Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 13-10-2017, 02:55 PM   #1
Daz w
Egg

Default Horsfield advice

Hi all.

I am very new to tortoise keeping and have recently purchased a small horsfield for my wife. When we went to have a look at him in the shop he was bombing around the Vivarium he was in and eating like a hors...field should.

I followed the advice of the shop and set up a sort of tortoise table with correct uv and heat light. I have also set up with 'tortoise life' substrate and made him a nice deep end to burrow in.

The only thing is, since I got him home around 2 weeks ago, he only seems to want to stay under his rock in a burrow he has made and sleep. He eats very little, if at all. I have tried him with everything I can imagine from weeds and grass to carrot and broccoli but I just can't get him to eat.

I bath him most days for around 10 - 20 minutes which he seems to enjoy and the return him to his rock under the light to dry off but he stays for a while then goes back to his burrow.

The temperature is around 30-32 on his rock down to around 20-22 at the cool end (Where he very rarely goes) depending on ambient temperature.

I will attach some photo's of my setup. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Daz
Daz w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 02:06 AM   #2
Daz w
Egg

Hi all.

I feel I may have a problem with my setup. I made a deep and shallow end in the substrate of my tortoise table and put a flat rock in the deep end under the basking light for him to warm up on. He has burrowed under the rock and this is where he spends most of his time asleep. I have measured the temperature under the rock and it's around 32.5 degrees. The light had been on for about 6-8 hours when I took the temperature so the rock had had plenty of time to get warm. Is that too warm for a hiding place and should i move his basking light to the shallow end of the substrate?

Thanks